So why did I start knitting?

I learned to knit when I was about 7 years old, my mom bought me this “starterkit”. It was a bright pink cardboard box, that contained (I think) four balls of yarn, a little booklet with instructions and easy pattern, and a pair of needles. I made the most horrible scarf you could ever imagine! (But it did have different colors in it, so looking back I am impressed that I didn’t just knit it in one color.

My mom always knitted on something, and she had a huge stash in our basement. I didn’t really knit that much, but from time to time I started something and maybe even completed it. Some years ago, I wanted to knit socks. She guided me through the whole prosess, and she taught me everything from the top of her head. She didn’t need any pattern or instructions. So when I wanted to knit a sweater maybe twoand a half years ago she was very supportive. While working on the sweater I called her so many times to ask her “is this normal? this doesn’t look normal?” and “do you think I have to frog this?”. She guided me through the frightful prosess it is to make a sweater for the first time.

When it was finally finished I brought it over to her to get her review. She was so impressed, and it meant so much to me.

After the sweater I went on a knitting hiatus. I tried to needlepoint, actually made some good stuff, but got tired of it, it wasn’t for me.

Then my lifechanging moment happened. During the Christmasholiday 2006 I left to visit my boyfriends family up in the vest of Norway. I travelled by plane, and as I turned on my cellphone again when I had arrived, my brother called. My mom had passed away. It was very sudden and a big shock. I had left her house only hours earlier, and she seemed in good shape when I left. Later the doctors told me she had a tumour on her heart, that gave her a kind of a heartattack. The tumour was too big to operate without my mom dying under the surgery. As if it was some kind of comfort that she would have died anyway?

I was 24 years old, I had lost the woman that cared the most about me in the whole world, and it may seem stupid, but I turned to knitting. Obviously not right away, but a few months after her funeral, when I had to get back to my life again, I started knitting. I picked up sockknitting again, I needed something to do when my mind started wandering and I got sad. A year or so later, I am still knitting. And I am very grateful that my mother taught me this craft.

  1. What a lovely tribute to your mother that you’re continuing with the craft she taught you!

  2. Such a sad story and such a great reminder to all of us to appreciate each and every single minute we get to spend with those we love.

    Your mom gave you a wonderful gift. I am happy that you are sticking with your knitting and it brings you comfort with your mom gone.

    My heart goes out to you me dear. If you ever need help with your knitting now…I would be honored to give you a hand 😉

    Just drop me a line and I will do my best!

    xoxox
    Marly




Leave a Reply

